Invited Speakers

Sir Andre Geim

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2010 for groundbreaking experiments regarding the two-dimensional material graphene
Sir Andre Geim

  • Born on 21 October 1958, in Sochi, Russia
  • Regius Professor of Physics at the University of Manchester, as well as Royal Society Research Professor
  • Received numerous awards such as John Carty Prize from the US National Academy of Sciences in 2010 and the Copley Medal from the Royal Society in 2013
  • First Scientist to win both a Nobel and Ig Nobel Prize


Professor Michael Grätzel

Millennium Technology Prize 2010 for research on dye-sensitised solar cells
Professor Michael Gratzel

  • Born on 11 May 1944, in Saxony, Germany
  • Professor of Physical Chemistry at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne where he directs the Laboratory of Photonics and Interfaces
  • One of the most highly cited chemists in the world
  • Recipient of various other awards such as the Harvey Prize of Technion in 2007 and the Albert Einstein World Award of Science in 2012


Sir Tim Hunt

The Nobel Prize in Physiology/Medicine 2001 for the discovery of key regulators of the cell cycle
Sir Tim Hunt

  • Born on 19 February 1943, in Neston, England
  • Member of the European Commission Scientific Council, as well as the Advisory Council for the Campaign for Science and Engineering
  • Fellow of the Royal Society
  • Emeritus Group Leader at the Cancer Research UK London Research Institution


Sir Anthony Leggett

The Nobel Prize in Physics 2003 for pioneering contributions to the theory of superconductors and superfluids
Sir Anthony Leggett

  • Born on 26 March 1938, in London, England
  • Professor of Physics at the University of Illinois
  • Member of the National Academy of Sciences and the American Philosophical Society, as well as fellow at the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • Honorary Fellow at the Institute of Physics (U.K.)


Professor Barbara Liskov

The Turing Award 2008 For contributions to practical and theoretical foundations of programming language and system design, especially related to data abstraction, fault tolerance, and distributed computing.
Professor Barbara Liskov

  • Born on 7 November 1939, in Los Angeles, United States of America
  • Head of the Programming Methodology Group at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Member of the National Academy of Engineering, and fellow at the American Academy of Arts and Sciences as well as the Association for Computer Machinery
  • Received other awards such as IEEE von Neumann medal in 2004


Professor Vladimir Voevodsky

The Fields Medal 2002 for developing a homotopy theory for algebraic varieties and formulating motivic cohomology, subsequently proving the Milnor’s Conjecture
Professor Vladimir Voevodsky

  • Born on 4 June 1966, in Moscow, Soviet Union
  • Mathematics Professor at the Institute for Advanced Study in Princeton University
  • Member of the European Academy of Sciences


Professor Rudolph A. Marcus

The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 1992 for his contributions to the theory of electron transfer reactions in chemical systems

  • Born on 21 July 1923, in Montreal, Canada
  • Professor at the California Institute of Technology
  • Member of the National Academy of Science and fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences
  • Received awards such as the Irving Langmuir Prize in Chemical Physics in 1978 and the National Medal of Science in 1989.